4 Old Mountpleasant is a stunning three storey period home dating to c. 1784. This two storey over basement level home has been lovingly restored by its current owners and now presents in turn-key condition. The house has been rewired and replumbed but retains the all-important period features such as original fireplaces, original floorboards, vaulted ceilings and shutters.
The house measures approximately 153.8 m² / 1655 ft².
A number of features really stand out with this house – Stained glass windows from Saint Columba’s Church (now Ranelagh Multi Denominational School) have been given a new lease of life and are now fitted internally at 4 Old Mountpleasant. An underside of an original floorboard bears an engraving “1784”. Exposed beams throughout the lower level of the house display both the refurbishment carried out and maintain a sense of space throughout. The front sittingroom has an Adams style fireplace whilst the lower level sittingroom boasts a solid fuel burning stove and original exposed stone walls. The kitchen is handmade and has a fitted gas range oven.
Old Mountpleasant is superbly located only a stone’s throw from Ranelagh Village and Ranelagh LUAS. This glorious listed home offers three bedrooms, two reception rooms, bathroom, kitchen and bathroom with reclaimed period bathroom fittings.
This stretch of houses boasts an enviable history of well-known occupants. Deirdre Kelly, author of “Four Roads to Dublin” lived at 4 Old Mountpleasant. Her book is regarded as an authoritative history of Ranelagh, Rathmines and Leeson St. In the early 19th century, the maker of scientific and astronomy equipment, Thomas Grubb lived at 1 Ranelagh Road. He was a billiard table maker, a clock maker and then an optician who diversified into making intricate scientific instruments including telescopes and lenses. He later became the “Engineer of the Bank of Ireland”
Enter your details in the form and
one of our team will be in touch